Back to the Beginning

Recently I’ve moved from Blogspot to here. This is a little back story of my “blogging life”, which deserves to be told because right now I feel like I’m back to where I started.

For the past four months, I’ve been in search for the perfect blogging platform. Now, I’m no “noob” when it comes to blogging and when it comes to the interwebs. I’ve been blogging, graphic and web designing since I was 12 (I even had my mom buy me a domain name for my 13th birthday) and since then I’ve always had this attachment to WordPress.

I remember the days when I was one of those girls who set up a website on a free host to create free resources such as Photoshop brushes, tutorials and little glitter graphics. Looking back at myself then, I honestly wish I didn’t start out that way. It was amusing because I tried so hard to be like all these other sites and quite frankly, I wasn’t getting far in terms of frequent visitors. Then, I discovered this content management platform called Cute PHP.

A lot of the people in the community I had been a member in used it, so I thought “Okay, why the hell not?” I can’t say that was the start of my blogging though. I mostly used it for “site updates” and the only times I actually felt the need to “blog” personally, was when I felt the need to rant.

I believe the real start of my blogging was when I found Jemjabella.co.uk, through her famous Pants Awards, in which she critiques certain websites (like mine, at the time.) I don’t know what exactly compelled me to take coding and aesthetics more seriously, but I’m pretty sure it had something to do with the fear of being slapped in the face with a Pants Award. Like I said, I tried hard to fit in.

Soon, I learned of the security (or lack thereof) that came with Cute PHP and decided that perhaps it was time to actually switch to a much better platform. WordPress was already incredibly popular at the time so I gave it a go. I brushed up on my PHP and started designing my own themes. I believe that that time held the proudest moments of my times as a blogger and designer, because I felt so 1337.

I tested another blogging engine called Chyrp but unfortunately my domain’s host didn’t support PHP 5 at that time yet, which sucks because I paid them $9.00 a month. That ain’t cool. Although, I suppose that was understandable because PHP 5 had only started to become supported during that time.

After all that adventure and learning, I unfortunately stopped blogging and coding when I was around 14 or so, letting my domain die along with the identity I’ve made in a certain community of bloggers. The reason why I did so? I completely forget, but whatever it was, I shouldn’t have let myself stop.

Around a year ago, I decided to give blogging another shot. I didn’t necessarily want to go back to designing yet however (I am now, but that’s a different story.) I jumped from Tumblr to Livejournal to Tumblr and stayed there until I realized no one actually “blogs” text on Tumblr. I went to Jux, which mind you, is a pretty awesome site. Then I went to Blogger/Blogspot and I stuck to it for months.

Honestly, it’s not bad at all. In fact, it’s a pretty good blogging engine. However, the customizability of the templates turned me off. It was very difficult, especially for someone who hadn’t touched code in a long time, for me to comprehend the structure. I created an account here to compare WordPress and Blogger. They both have their ups and downs but honestly, the whole time I was blogging on Blogger, I had an itch to move to WP.

So here I am, back to where I started. I’m hoping I’ll stick around long enough to upgrade and code my own theme, maybe even buy myself a domain.

2 comments
  1. Renard Moreau said:

    [ Smiles ] I also have two blogs; one on WordPress and the other on Blogger. I have been making comparisons ever since.

    In my opinion, WordPress is wonderful!

    Nice blog by the way!

  2. Indeed it is! Thanks, right back at you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

